5, 4, 3, 2, 1…Using a Visual Countdown

shuttle

“Is it time yet?”, “Is it my turn?”, “When do we go to lunch?”…..Sound familiar?  It should, as most preschoolers will repeat these questions many times during the day.  One of my favorite strategies for helping children understand when it will be time for the desired activity, or when it will be time to change activities, is to use a visual countdown.

The visual countdown is a simple, graphic way to count down from 5 (the beginning of one activity) to 1 (the end of that activity and the beginning of the next).  Used with or without verbal cues, students learn to look at  the countdown chart to check how close they are getting to the next activity.  Save your voice by using the visual countdown.  It really can help!!

I am including 3 links to give you access to samples of visual countdowns that may work for you in your classroom.  Let me know if you have a chance to use them and what did or did not work for you!   Miss Debi

count down

http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Product/Autism-Transition-Strategy-Printable-countdown-boardsstoplights

http://www.erinoakkids.ca/getattachment/Resources/Autism/Visual-Supports/Visual-Count-Down-Board.pdf.aspx

This entry was posted in Visual Countdown. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 5, 4, 3, 2, 1…Using a Visual Countdown

  1. Rachell McCullough says:

    Debi,

    I definitely would like to implement this in my classroom. I think this may help with transitions. I would love some input as to how to set this up when I see you next.

    • debic321 says:

      Great! I agree that it could really help with your students who are visual learners, as well as the students who tend to be impulsive. I will bring some samples next week 🙂 Debi

  2. Jodi says:

    This visual countdown is so awesome! The behavior chart is great too!I really like the one where the students draw a line to each baseball unitl it lands in the glove, then they get to do something they enjoy! Works like a charm! 🙂

    • Debi says:

      So glad you find them useful! I hope more teachers will give them a try. I find they are so simple, yet so effective 🙂

Leave a Reply

